EU Roaming Charges In 28 European Countries Have Now Been Scrapped

european union

From today, roaming charges in the European Union will no longer apply.

On 15th June 2017, a new law came into force meaning those travelling within the EU can call, text and browse the internet without paying extra roaming charges.

The legislation means you will be treated as though you are in your home country when travelling abroad.

In a statement, the European Commission said: “The European Union is about bringing people together and making their lives easier. The end of roaming charges is a true European success story.

“From now on, citizens who travel within the EU will be able to call, text and connect on their mobile devices at the same price as they pay at home. Eliminating roaming charges is one of the greatest and most tangible successes of the EU.

“Over the last 10 years, our institutions have been working hard together to fix this market failure. Each time a European citizen crossed an EU border, be it for holidays, work, studies or just for a day, they had to worry about using their mobile phones and a high phone bill from the roaming charges when they came home. Roaming charges will now be a thing of the past. As of tomorrow, you will be able to remain connected while travelling in the EU, for the same price as at home.”

There are, however, some complications, as exceeding your agreed-upon data allowance from home could still carry charges.

This comes in the form of “fair use” measures, which were pushed for by the mobile carriers, that are designed to prevent people abusing mobile data allowances by doing things like downloading films and TV shows.

If subscribers go over this fair use barrier, which is different depending on your mobile carrier, they could be charged up to €7.70 per GB of data plus VAT, but this is expected to decline to €2.50 per GB by 2022.

The ruling applies to the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

With singles travelling within the EU now more likely to be using their phones while abroad, this law could open up an opportunity for international dating sites to target travelling users while they are abroad.

Read more here.