Facebook to Cut Down ‘Now Connected on Messenger’ Alerts

Messenger

Facebook is set to cut down the ‘now connected on Messenger’ alerts.

When a user friends someone new on Facebook or Messenger, or an old friend joins Messenger, they often receive one of these notifications.

Users have complained that the platform tricks them into thinking someone wants to chat with them, as a message notification pops up. Instead, it buries their real message threads.

Facebook has already said that they are currently in the process of cutting back on the alerts. A Facebook spokesperson told TechCrunch: “We’ve found that many people have appreciated getting a notification when a friend joins Messenger. That said, we are working to make these notifications even more useful by employing machine learning to send fewer of them over time to people who enjoy getting them less. We appreciate all and any feedback that people send our way, so please keep it coming because it helps us make the product better.”

Last month, German publication AllFacebook.de leaked screenshots of an upcoming Facebook feature that will allow influencers and brands to collaborate.

The Branded Content Matching interface will enable brands to reach their target audiences via authentic collaborations, while helping creators to monetise.

Read more here.