Facebook Rolls Out Unsend Message Feature

Facebook has deployed a new feature which allows Messenger users to retract messages up to ten minutes after they’re sent.

The social media site will have options to “Remove for everyone” and “Remove for you” on sent messages.

In place of the message, recipients will see a notice signifying its deletion. They will still be able to report deleted messages.

In April 2018, TechCrunch found that messages sent by Mark Zuckerberg were pulled from inboxes of non-employees. Facebook argued that this was for security reasons, then later suggested it was a feature in development.

They said: “We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages.

“We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.”

Last month, tipster Jane Manchun Wong revealed that Facebook Dating will integrate a safety feature that allows friends and family to track a single’s location via Messenger.

It is not clear how this feature will mesh with the recent announcement that the Messenger, WhatsApp and Instagram communication channels are headed for some cross-platform integration.

Read more here.