Tinder has just resurrected one of its old features – letting its users play matchmaker.
The company revealed it is testing the feature with a “small group of users”, who will get the ability to share a profile they come across.
After they click the share button, it lets you send a temporary link via text to a friend, and they will be able to swipe right or left on the profile you shared.
This link expires either after five clicks, or after 72 hours.
And if you swipe on a profile that has been shared with you, your profile may appear in their feed, as long as you meet their preferences.
However, for those who don’t want their profile to be shareable in this way, they can turn the feature off in the Discovery Settings.
The feature is currently being tested in a number of different markets, with Tinder saying it may differ in appearance and functionality depending on location.
This matchmaking idea was something Tinder added to the app back in 2013, implementing the ability to introduce your Facebook friends in version 2.1.
And although this was phased out of Tinder, the team clearly think the idea has potential, and is bringing the ability back in a simpler way – and making use of its new shareable usernames and web profiles.